Students, faculty receive awards at Poultry Science Association meeting

July 22, 2014
Contact Information:

Sara Landis, Communications, Center of Excellence for Poultry Science
479-575-3192 /

Download story

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Students and faculty in the University of Arkansas poultry science department received prestigious awards at the 2014 Poultry Science Association Annual Meeting held July 14-17 in Corpus Christi, Texas.

Walter G. Bottje, a professor and physiologist with the department, received the Zoetis Fundamental Science Award. The award recognizes outstanding achievement in basic disciplines (genetics, genomics, immunology, molecular, cellular and developmental biology, physiology, poultry health and proteomics), and was presented with a prize of $1,000 and a plaque provided by Zoetis, an animal health company.

Guillermo Tellez of the John K. Skeeles Poultry Health Laboratory research staff received the Frank Perdue Live Poultry Food Safety Award. This award is presented for research in food safety that makes a sustained impact on decreasing potentially harmful pathogenic organisms delivered to the processing plant that have been shown to come from breeder and/or live operations. The $3,000 award and plaque is given only in even-numbered years.

The PSA Early Achievement Award for Research was given to Lisa R. Bielke, also a research scientist at the John K. Skeeles Poultry Health Laboratory. This award is given to recognize the distinctive achievements of PSA members in the early stages of their careers in poultry research. She received $250 and a plaque provided by the Poultry Science Association.

Samantha Cox, an undergraduate student, was given a Student Research Paper Certificate of Participation in the Environment and Management category.

Five Graduate Student Research Paper Certificates of Excellence were awarded in recognition of high-quality research presented by graduate students at the annual meeting. The five graduate students who received certificates are:

• Kristen A. Byrne, directed by professor Gisela Erf, under the category Genetics, Immunology, Pathology, for her paper titled “Monitoring leukocyte recruitment in chicken blood and feather pulp during the inflammatory response to lipopolysaccharide (LPS);”
• Justina Victoria Caldas, directed by professor Craig Coon, under the category Nutrition II, for her paper titled “Energetic efficiency and body composition of broilers fed diets with exogenous enzymes;”
• Juan D. LaTorre, directed by professor Billy M. Hargis, under the category Nutrition II, for his paper titled “Improvement of the nutritive value of rye for neonate broiler chickens by direct-fed microbial-induced bacterial translocation and viscosity reduction;”
• Sarbjeet K. Makkar, directed by USDA research physiologist Narayan C. Rath, under the category Nutrition III, for her paper titled “Nutritional effects of egg shell membrane supplements on chicken performance and immunity;”
• Megan Hancock, directed by professor Wayne Kuenzel, under the category Physiology, Endocrinology, and Reproduction, for her paper titled “Central administration of neuropeptide Y (NPY) and vasotocin 4 receptor (VT4R) antagonists on food intake and a stress response in chicks.”

Rodney E. Wolfe, manager of the department’s pilot processing plant, received the Tyson Foods, Inc. Support Personnel Award. This award is given annually in recognition of outstanding support of poultry science research, extension, or teaching programs. It consists of $500 and a certificate.

Mike Kidd, department head and director of the Center of Excellence for Poultry Science, was acknowledged as outgoing past president and board of director member.

PSA is a professional organization consisting of approximately 1,300 educators, scientists, extension specialists, administrators and producers who are committed to advancing the poultry industry.

The University of Arkansas is an equal opportunity/affirmative action institution.