Delta Scholarship Golf Classic Tournament scheduled for July 19

June 28, 2013
Contact Information:

Holly Yeatman, Recruiting Coordinator, Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences, 479-575-5726

Josh Cunningham, Delta Classic tournament director

Download story

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The 14th annual Delta Classic Scholarship Golf Tournament will be held at the Helena Country Club in Helena-West Helena, Ark., on July 19. The annual golf classic is a fundraiser for undergraduate scholarships for students in the Department of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Sciences at the University of Arkansas.

The four-man scramble event begins with registration at 7:30 a.m. The tournament begins at 9 a.m. Johnny Roach of Monticello will prepare a play-through barbeque lunch.

Team, hole, and corporate sponsorships are available. Corporate sponsors of the 2012 tournament were Allen Canning Co., Arkansas Farm Bureau, Isle of Capri, Crop Production Services, Helena Chemical Company and Monsanto.

Teams must pre-register to participate. Participants are encouraged to register early. Teams may register online at To request a registration form for the tournament, contact Holly Yeatman at

Delta Classic scholarships of $2,000 each for the 2013-2014 school year have been awarded to Regan Counce of DeWitt, Tra Dickson of Marion, Hunter Harris of Stuttgart, Taylor Parks of Republic, Mo., Gage Powell of Fayetteville, and J.W. Seale and Tucker Thompson of Marion. James Barrentine Scholarships of $2,500 each have been awarded to Christian Bloodworth and Michael Fogleman of Marion and Eliott Pruett of Summers.

For more information about the tournament, contact Josh Cunningham, tournament director, at 501-676-3144 or