Center for Food Animal Wellbeing to host second annual symposium on advances and current issues in animal wellbeing

May 29, 2012
Contact Information:

Yvonne Vizzier Thaxton, Professor and Director, Center for Food Animal Wellbeing

Sara Landis, Communications, U of A Center of Excellence for Poultry Science, 479-575-3192,

Download story

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Center for Food Animal Wellbeing will host its second annual symposium Aug. 9 on advances and current issues in food animal wellbeing. The center is a unit of the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture and the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.

The one-day symposium will be on the university campus at a location to be announced. Registration is free. Those planning to attend should register by Aug. 3.

Yvonne Vizzier Thaxton, director for the Center for Food Animal Wellbeing, said, “I am excited about bringing speakers with international reputations to speak on animal welfare research and related issues of current interest to those of us in animal agriculture.”

Speakers include Alice Johnson, vice president of food safety, corporate quality, animal welfare and government and public affairs with Butterball, LLC; Karen Christensen, technical director, O.K. Foods and president of the Professional Animal Auditor Certification Organization; Amanda Radke, rancher, motivational speaker and author; Gail Golab, director, American Veterinary Medical Association Animal Welfare Division; Chris Ashworth, senior dairy specialist, Elanco; Candace Croney, associate professor of animal sciences, Purdue University; Elizabeth Rumley, staff attorney, National Agricultural Law Center; Michael Formicella, president and co-owner of Chella Foods, Chicago; and Charlie Arnot, chief executive officer for the Center for Food Integrity.

Thaxton said the goal for the Center for Food Animal Wellbeing is to improve animal health, animal handling, food safety and productivity by developing and defining objective measurements of wellbeing including measures of behavior, stress physiology, neurophysiology, immunology, microbiology and production efficiency.

Registration information and the program are online at The deadline to register is Aug. 3.