U of A’s Bumpers College presents student awards

April 19. 2012
Contact Information:

Howell Medders, Communications, University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture
479-575-5647, hmedders@uark.edu

Download story

Download print quality photos of award recipients at http://www.uark.edu/admin/aes/awards/bumpers.apr2012.html

 FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Awards recognizing student achievement were presented at the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences Honors and Awards Banquet Thursday in the Verizon Ballroom in the Arkansas Union at the University of Arkansas.

The First Ranked Senior Scholar award was presented to Julia Anne Korman of Rowlett, Texas. This award signifies that she has maintained a 4.0 grade point average and completed all of her coursework at the University of Arkansas. She is majoring in human development and family sciences with a concentration in child development.

The Senior Scholar Award, which signifies the highest grade point average during four years of college and may include transfer credits, went to Kayla Christen Boling of Gravette and Alden Daniel Smartt of Gentry, who both achieved 4.0 grade point averages.

Boling is an agricultural business major with a concentration in marketing and management and a minor in global agricultural, food and life sciences.

Smartt has already received a B.S. degree as an environmental, soil and water science major. He also completed a minor in crop management. He is currently pursuing a master’s degree in crop, soil and environmental sciences at the University of Arkansas.

The Presidential Scholar Award for a junior with the highest grade point average went to Alexandra Estha Lee Canfield of Fayetteville, an animal science major with a pre-veterinary medicine concentration and a minor is Spanish. She plans to graduate in May 2013 and continue her education in veterinary medicine.

The Dale Bumpers Distinguished Scholars award is presented to an outstanding undergraduate transfer student and outstanding students pursuing master’s and doctoral degrees.

The Distinguished Scholar Award for a Transfer Student went to Danielle Nicole Smith of Overland Park, Kan. A transfer from Johnson County (Kansas) Community College, she is an agricultural communication, education and technology major.

The Distinguished M.S. Scholar Award was presented to Kristin MacKenzie Pennington of Springdale, an agricultural and extension education student with a concentration in communications. She completed a teaching internship and is certified as a high school teacher.

The Distinguished Ph.D. Scholar Award went to Amber Dawn Tripodi of Fayetteville who is working toward a Ph.D. degree in entomology. Her research is on population dynamics of native bumble bees and carpenter bees. She is a teaching assistant in applied molecular genetics and principal investigator on a Sustainable Agriculture graduate student grant.

The John W. White Outstanding Student Award went to Christopher Keith Addison of Hazen, an animal science major with minors in equine science and agricultural business. He plans to enroll in graduate school and eventually pursue a doctorate in meat science.

The Spitze Public Policy Legislative Internship was awarded to Emily Elizabeth Culver of Fayetteville, a food, human nutrition and hospitality major with a concentration in hospitality and restaurant management. She will be a summer intern on the staff of an Arkansas senator or member of the House of Representatives.

The Greg Weidemann DBCAFLS Alumni Society Scholarship recipients were Casi Leigh Crawley of Greenwood and Michael Taylor Norton of Prairie Grove.

Crawley is a sophomore majoring in food, human nutrition and hospitality with a dietetics concentration and is a certified yoga instructor.

Norton is a junior with a double major in agricultural business and poultry science. He is also the first Bumpers College student to receive the prestigious Harry S. Truman Scholarship, one of only 54 nationwide to receive the $30,000 scholarship for graduate study.

Katie Leigh Waldrip of Moro and Cody Rhyne Gallagher of Foreman were selected as the 2012 Alumni Society Ring Scholars.

Waldrip is a senior majoring in food, human nutrition and hospitality with concentrations in dietetics and hospitality management and a minor in agricultural business. She plans to pursue a master’s degree in a nutrition-related field.

Gallagher has a double major in poultry science and in agricultural education, communication and technology with a minor In agricultural business. He will be a summer intern with the Pilgrim's poultry company in DeQueen.