Communicators win awards at professional society meeting

June 23, 2011
Contact Information:

Leslie Edgar, Department of Agricultural and Extension Education

David Edmark, Division of Agriculture Communications

Download story
leslie edgar

Leslie Edgar
(Click on image to download full-resolution version.)

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. -- Leslie D. Edgar, assistant professor of agricultural communications at the University of Arkansas, was presented the Award of Excellence-International at the annual meeting of the Association for Communication Excellence in Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Life and Human Sciences June 10-13 in Denver.

The Award of Excellence, presented in four categories, is one of the association's top four awards. Edgar's award was for research journal articles she has written based on student experiences in Mexico and opportunities for virtual international experiences in the Second Life – a 3D virtual world computer program. She served in the ACE International Special Interest Group (SIG) leadership for three years from 2007-2010.

Edgar was one of four researchers who received the Outstanding Research Paper award for the manuscript titled "The Contribution of Selected Instructional Methods Toward Graduate Student Understanding of Crisis Communication."

Edgar teaches communications courses for upper level and graduate students in the agricultural education, communications and technology major in Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences.

Three other awards were presented for communication projects from the University of Arkansas. Two bronze awards for writing in a specialized publication went to David Edmark for articles in The Food Safety Consortium Newsletter. A bronze award for promotional publications went to Judy Howard, Howell Medders, Fred Miller, Jennie Popp and Wayne Miller for a booklet, "Economic Impact of Agriculture on the Arkansas Economy."

Edmark, Howard, Medders and Miller are in the communication services unit of the Arkansas Agricultural Experiment Station. Popp and Miller are professors of agricultural economics.