UA’s Bumpers College presents student awards

April 19, 2011
Contact Information:

Howell Medders, Communications, University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture

Download story
Kristen White and Lona Robertson

Lona Robertson, associate dean of Bumpers College at the University of Arkansas, congratulates John W. White Outstanding Student Award recipient Kristen Alicia White at the college’s awards banquet Thursday.
(Click on image to download full-resolution version.)

Photos of award recipients are online at:

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Awards recognizing student achievement were presented at the Dale Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences awards banquet Thursday in the Alltel Ballroom in the Arkansas Union at the University of Arkansas.

The Greg Weidemann DBCALFS Alumni Society Scholarship recipient was Tara Johnson, the daughter of Thomas and Linda Johnson of Lead Hill. A junior agricultural education, communication and technology major with an emphasis in agricultural communications, she is an agriculture extension and education department representative and vice president of the Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow. She was a public relations intern for Arkansas Farm Bureau during the summer of 2010.

Alumni Society Ring Scholar awards were presented t to Michael Taylor Norton, the son of Kevin Norton of Lincoln and Sonja Barton of Prairie Grove, and Kayla Christen Boling, the daughter of Danny and Rebecca Boling of Gravette.

Norton is a sophomore with a double major in agricultural business and poultry science. He is a Bumpers College Ambassador, president of Collegiate Farm Bureau, and represents Bumpers College in the Associated Student Government Senate. He was a member of the Poultry Judging Team last fall and was the 2009-2010 Arkansas FFA president among other activities. This summer he will be interning for the World Cocoa Foundation in Accra, Ghana.

Boling is a senior agricultural business major with a minor in global agricultural, food and life sciences. She is vice president of the Agricultural Business Club and a member of Collegiate 4-H/FFA and Collegiate Farm Bureau. This summer she will participate in a community development project in Dangriga, Belize, to assist in developing a school farm and other community projects.

The Dale Bumpers Distinguished Scholars award is presented to an outstanding undergraduate transfer student and outstanding students pursuing master’s and doctoral degrees.

The transfer student award was presented to Rachael Diane Pierce, the daughter of Ralph and Sheri Pierce of Oronoco, Mo., and an agriculture education, communication and technology major with a concentration in agricultural education. She is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, Delta Tau Alpha, and Gamma Sigma Delta and is also a member of Collegiate FFA/4-H and the Ag Mechanics Club. She expects to graduate in May 2012 and plans to pursue a career as an agricultural science instructor.

The master’s student recipient was Jason Allen Davis, the son of Allen and Karen Davis of Paragould and an agricultural and extension education student with a concentration in agricultural systems technology management. His master’s research is focused on possible methods to reduce exhaust emissions and improve engine performance in diesel engines using emulsified biodiesel fuels. He plans to pursue a career in agriculture education or in agriculture industry after graduation.

Doctoral student recipients are Brittany Lynn White, in food science, and Eduardo Masakazu Kawakami, in crop, soil and environmental sciences.

Brittany White, the daughter of Jennie Bonds of Jonesboro, received her B.S. degree in food science from the University of Arkansas. Her research is in the area of nutraceuticals and functional food chemistry with a focus on enhancing the extraction of polyphenolic compounds from cranberry pomace. She has accepted a position as a postdoctoral research associate with the Agricultural Research Service in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Eduardo Masakazu Kawakami, the son of Alice Machiko Kawakami and Kazutoshi Kawakami of Sao Paulo, Brazil, has a B.S. degree in agronomy from the Universidade de Sao Paulo and an M.S. degree in crop physiology from the University of Arkansas. His doctoral research is to help cotton farmers to improve fertilization practices to obtain higher yields and less environmental impact. His career goal is to assist in the development of a more sustainable agricultural system through research.

The Senior Scholar award, which signifies a 4.0 grade point average, was presented to Fines Levi Hudson. The son of Richard and Anita Hudson of Mt. Judea, he is a food, human nutrition, and hospitality major with a concentration in dietetics. He is a member of Alpha Zeta Honor society and the Razorbacks for Christ ministries. He expects to graduate in May and will enroll at Harding University at Searcy in August to pursue a master’s degree in the physician’s assistant program.

The Presidential Scholar award is for the student with the highest grade point average after having earned at least 45 credit hours. The 2011 recipient is Alden Smartt, the son of William and Linda Smartt of Gentry and an environmental, soil and water science major with a minor in crop management. He is a member of Gamma Sigma Delta--the agricultural honor society and the Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences Club.

The John W. White Outstanding Student for 2011 is Kristen Alicia Byrne, the daughter of Pat and Karla Byrne of Dierks and an honors student majoring in poultry science with a minor in global agricultural, food and life sciences. In 2009 and 2010 Kristen was a mentor for the Bumpers College Connection program and a member of the Dean’s Student Advisory Board. She is president of the Poultry Science Club and active in the children’s ministry of a local church.

The Spitze Public Policy Legislative Internship award recipient was John Shelby Gragg, the son of John and Stephanie Gragg and an agricultural business major with a minor in political science. He has served as the University of Arkansas College Republican president, operations director for the state party, and worked on numerous campaigns at the state and local levels. He is the recipient of the 2010 Triangle Insurance Scholarship and was the 2010 Alumni Society Ring Scholar.